Data Terra, registered on the national roadmap research infrastructures, benefits from the support and a coordinated policy of some 30 partner organizations and institutions. The IR federates the activities of 4 data centers covering the 4 compartments of the Earth system (Solid Earth “Form@Ter”, Oceans “ODATIS”, Continental Surfaces “THEIA” and Atmosphere “AERIS”) as well as transversal services such as DINAMIS for access to spatial data, the Inter-pole to share expertise and experience (interoperability, catalog, DOI, ) in the implementation of information systems.

The UMS CPST (Coordination Pôles de données et de services pour le Système Terre) is mandated to provide support to Data Terra’s activities in its missions of administration, management and technical coordination of infrastructures and data and service centres. Its main guardianships are CNRS/INSU, CNES, IFREMER, IRD, INRAE, IGN and Météo France.

Structuring and Organisation

General Assembly

CNES, CNRS, IFREMER, IRD, IGN, INRAE, IPGP, Météo France, CEA, SHOM, BRGM, CEREMA, CIRAD, INERIS, ONERA, Observatoire Côte d’Azur, Observatoire Paris, école Polytechnique, Univ. Lille-1, Univ. Féd. Toulouse, Agro Paris Tech, Univ. Grenoble-Alpes, Univ. Clermont-Auvergne, Univ. Strasbourg, Univ. Mpl, Région Hauts de France, …

Executive Board


A Director and a management team

Executive committe:  IR Directeur, directors of each data center (4), technical director

Support and management structure: UMS CPST (Coordination des Pôles de données système Terre ; CNRS, CNES, IFREMER, Meteo-France, IGN, IRD, INRAE ; UMS 2013 (2019 – 2023)

Governance specific to each Data Center

Data Center : 4 steering committees, scientific board, executive office, direction and project team

Transversal Services

Dinamis : steering committee, executive secretariat